ACCP Recognition Award Winners

We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2021 ACCP Honors & Awards Program. Nominations for the 2022 ACCP Honors & Awards Program will be accepted starting in August 2021. 

2020 ACCP Recognition Award Winners

ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award 

Michael D. Reed, PharmD – Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics, Dept of Pediatrics, Case Western Reserve Univ School of Medicine 

The ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award is given annually and is intended to recognize superior scientific expertise and accomplishments by a senior investigator, usually involving a distinct area of research in basic or clinical pharmacology for which the individual is internationally known. The candidate need not be a Member or Fellow of ACCP. See Dr. Reed's bio.

ACCP Honorary Fellowship Award 

Michael Cohen-Wolkowiez, MD, PhD – Professor of Pediatrics, Duke Univ 

The ACCP Honorary Fellowship Award is given annually to a Non-member of ACCP and is meant to recognize primary activities within the immediate domain of clinical pharmacology. The award recognizes overall contributions to the field, rather than for any particular scientific work, by a senior investigator or authority having a national or international reputation in the scientific, public service, legislative, governmental or other area of endeavor impacting the field. See Dr. Cohen-Wolkowiez's bio.

Nathaniel T. Kwit Memorial Distinguished Service Award 

Vera S. Donnenberg, PhD - Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Univ of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy

The Nathaniel T. Kwit Memorial Distinguished Service Award is given in memory of the late Nathaniel T. Kwit, MD, FCP, a founding Fellow of ACCP, who served as a Regent for five years and as Treasurer for 20 years. The primary intent of this award is to recognize accomplishments of a general nature which benefit the field of clinical pharmacology. These may be in the area of teaching, administration, service with ACCP, long-term and wide-ranging scientific studies having practical importance, and other service-related functions. It is differentiated from the ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award in that it is not intended to recognize any distinct area of scientific investigation, but rather an overall contribution to the field. The candidate need not be an ACCP Member or Fellow. See Dr. Donnenberg's bio.

Roger Jelliffe Individualized Therapy Award

Michael N. Neely, MD, MSc - Univ of Southern California Keck School of Medicine

The Roger Jelliffe Individualized Therapy Award is given annually to a Member or Non-member of ACCP and is intended to recognize an individual who significantly advances the field of personalized medicine by improving the use of drugs or biologics in patients. See Dr. Neely's bio.

Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology Award

Deanna Kroetz, PhD, BSc - Director of the Pharmaceutical Sciences & Pharmacogenomics Graduate Program, Univ of California San Francisco

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology Award is given annually to an awardee who demonstrates exemplary promotion of clinical pharmacology, with emphasis on training/guidance of junior scientists and/or colleagues. See Dr. Kroetz's bio.

Tanabe Young Investigator Award

Ayyappa Chaturvedula, PhD - Associate Professor, Univ of North Texas System Coll of Pharmacy

The Tanabe Young Investigator Award is given on a biannual basis (on even numbered years), and is funded by a grant from Tanabe Research Labs USA. The award recognizes the significant contributions of an investigator who has made unusual strides in research related to clinical pharmacology and whose career shows promise of outstanding achievements at a relatively early stage, typically 10-12 years post-research degree. The candidate need not be a Member or Fellow of ACCP. See Dr. Chaturvedula's bio.

McKeen Cattell Memorial Award

Michael Ganetsky, MD, FACEP, FACMT - Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Director, Div of Medical Toxicology, Dept of Emergency Medicine, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Ctr

The McKeen Cattell Memorial Award is given in memory of the late McKeen Cattell, MD, PhD, FCP, the first editor of The Journal of Clinical Pharmacology (JCP) and co-founder of ACCP. This award is given annually, recognizing an outstanding research paper published in the JCP during the preceding year. The award is typically presented to the first author of the paper.

“Inhibition of CYP2E1 With Propylene Glycol Does Not Protect Against Hepatocellular Injury in Human Acetaminophen Daily‐Dosing Model”. Authors: Michael Ganetsky, MD, Anders H. Berg, MD, PhD, Joshua J. Solano, MD, Steven Salhanick, MD. Published in The Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, Volume 59, Issue 1, pages 131 – 138, August, 2018.